Come into My Lair, Said the Clock to the Fly

17 Feb

I know it doesn’t quite have the same ring as The Spider and the Fly, but I’m pretty sure you get the idea. Or maybe you don’t. Wanna get the idea?

Check out the fly that's stuck on it!

Looks pretty odd, don’t it? And I bet you’re thinking, “Hmmm…I see sandpaper, and I see a fly on said sandpaper. Below aforementioned fly and paper appears to be a digi-clock. What’s the dealy-o?”

Actually, you’re probably not thinking that at all. Whatever. Watch the video anyway so that I can talk about robots after:

HOW FREAKIN’ CRAZY IS THAT?!

I’m kinda tripping balls about it actually. And every single person who’s seen the video or blogged about the technology has said pretty much the same thing (and I agree):

Uh, don’t you think we should have made them vegetarians?

The geniuses (/mad scientists who will see the death of us all) behind this and other sweet shit are James Auger and Jimmy Loizeau who head UK-based design group Auger-Loizeau. These guys are weird enough to be my new heroes. Check their stuff out.

Speaking seriously though, all kinds of people are jumping on this biomass bandwagon, including the Pentagon which appears to have commissioned a biomass-eating military robot from Robotic Technology Inc. (RTI) called the Energetically Autonomous Tactical Robot.

Yeah, no joke. It’s called EATR.

And although they claim that their robot is vegetarian–after the run-amok rumours to the contrary published by Fox–I find it hard to believe that a robot built for the military, to be used specifically in battle situations, isn’t gonna eat dead bodies. Yes, yes, moral blah blah blah, desecration of the dead, something something respect, yada yada yada war crimes. Whatever. AS IF a robot that FORAGES FOR ITS OWN FOOD isn’t gonna feed on an energy source like that.

Plus, you can’t file war crimes against a robot. Not yet, anyway.

If you want a little more info on the science, check out this site.

If you want a little more info on what the future will look like, check out this site.

3 Responses to “Come into My Lair, Said the Clock to the Fly”

  1. Kaare February 23, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    There, my computer finally let me watch this video. WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH PEOPLE!? Why are we barreling towards a robo-apocalypse? Can this be blamed on Dan Mangan? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aRcXULN6mp4

  2. Kaare February 18, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    OMFG how did I not hear about EATR?!

    Finally a solution to over population and the genesis of my Matrix fantasy!!!!!

    • Angie Pants February 25, 2011 at 1:44 am #

      Dude, yes to all of the above. It’s insane, no?

Leave a Reply

