Parrots, the Universe, and Everything

11 Feb

If you know me, you know that I’m partially (fully) in love with (obsessed by) Douglas Adams. Actually, there’s a very good possibility that you don’t know that, but you do now.

I’ve been obsessed with the books for years and just about knocked my mom over when the preview for the movie first showed. Given, I thought the movie was an unmitigated piece of junk the first five times I saw it, but it eventually grew on me. Learning that Douglas Adams had a hand in writing the screenplay helped. I’m elitist like that.

And now, years after his death, he speaks from the grave. Technically speaking he spoke before the grave, but let’s worry about time-space later. For now I’d like to share this amazing talk he gave at the University of California, Santa Barbara shortly before he expired.

And here’s the preview that I beat my mom up over:

One Response to “Parrots, the Universe, and Everything”

  1. Martin Gaal February 11, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Well, it must run in the family. I have loves these books since I was about 10. In fact, I have a friend here in Brussels named Ford. I think he may be my friend just because of his name…

    Cool, video BTW and glad you are sending your vibes out to the world again…

Leave a Reply

